Under the Valuation of Land Act 1960, municipal councils have the option to transfer their responsibility for completing rating authority valuations to the Valuer-General, making the Valuer-General the valuation authority for that municipality.

Councils have until 30 June 2018 to nominate the Valuer-General as the valuation authority for their 2020 general valuation of rateable and non-rateable leviable land.

The following fact sheet outlines the process to opt in and Valuer-General Victoria's responsibilities.

Valuer-General as valuation authority 2018 (DOCX, 171.7 KB)

The Valuer-General is the valuation authority for the 2018 valuation for the following 18 Victorian municipalities:

  • Bass Coast Shire
  • Benalla Rural City
  • Buloke Shire
  • Central Goldfields Shire
  • Corangamite Shire
  • City of Kingston
  • Hindmarsh Shire
  • Horsham Rural City
  • Latrobe City
  • Mitchell Shire
  • Mount Alexander Shire
  • Northern Grampians Shire
  • Pyrenees Shire
  • Strathbogie Shire
  • Toowong Shire
  • Wangaratta City
  • Warrnambool City Council
  • Yarra Ranges Shire

Further information

For location and contact details, visit contact us.